Steering committee

The MRDR Steering Committee features some internationally recognised clinical myeloma experts, a clinical myeloma nurse consultant and a patient/carer’s advocate, providing valuable insights on behalf of those living with myeloma.

Steering Committee members

The MRDR Steering Committee provides advice and guidance in governance of the registry.

Professor Andrew Spencer
  • Monash University & The Alfred Hospital, Melbourne
  • MRDR Coordinating Principal Investigator

Professor Spencer is Head of the Malignant Haematology and Stem Cell Transplantation Service at The Alfred Hospital, Professor of Haematology at Monash University, Head of the Myeloma Research Group and Co-Director of the ACRF Blood Cancer Therapeutics Centre at the Australian Centre for Blood Diseases, all in Melbourne, Australia. He serves on the scientific advisory boards of the International Myeloma Foundation (IMF), International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) and the European Myeloma Network (EMN).

Professor Erica Wood
  • Monash University, Melbourne

Professor Wood is a haematologist, and Head of the Transfusion Research Unit at SPHPM, Monash University which operates major registries and clinical trials in transfusion and blood disorders, including haematological malignancies.  She is a Consultant Haematologist at Monash Health and honorary Consultant Haematologist at Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre.

Professor P. Joy Ho
  • Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney

Professor Joy Ho is Senior Staff Specialist in Haematology, Institute of Haematology, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital and Clinical Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of Sydney. She is one of the principal investigators of the Myeloma Research Unit at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital.

Associate Professor Peter Mollee
  • Princess Alexandra Hospital, Brisbane

A/Prof Peter Mollee is Chair, Myeloma Disease Group, Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group and Director of the Princess Alexandra Hospital Amyloidosis Clinic. Peter is involved in research generated from local, administrative and cancer registry databases.

Associate Professor Zoe McQuilten
  • Monash University & St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne

A/Prof McQuilten is a consultant haematologist and NHMRC Early Career Fellow at Monash University. She is deputy-director of the Transfusion Research Unit at Monash University, Chair of the Supportive Care Disease Group with the Australiasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group and member of the Advisory Committee for the Australian Red Cross Blood Service.

Associate Professor Hilary Blacklock
  • Middlemore Hospital, New Zealand

A/Prof Hilary Blacklock is a haematologist at Middlemore Hospital, Auckland, New Zealand; Medical Director of the NZ Bone Marrow Donor Registry, and member of the Board of Trustees of Leukaemia and Blood Cancer NZ.

Associate Professor Hang Quach
  • St Vincent's Hospital, Melbourne

Dr Hang Quach is a consultant haematologist and member of the Australian Medical and Scientific Advisory Group of MFA. Hang has a special interest in biology and immunology of multiple myeloma and novel therapeutics.

Dr Bradley Augustson
  • Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Perth

Dr Bradley Augustson is a clinical and laboratory haematologist with experience in clinical trials in malignant haematology.

Mr Brian Rosengarten
  • Myeloma Foundation Australia, Melbourne

Mr Brian Rosengarten is joint founder and current President of the Myeloma Foundation, Australia.

Ms Tracy King
  • Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney

Ms Tracy King is a clinical research fellow with the Clinical Nursing Research Unit at Sydney University and is an experienced myeloma nurse based at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital. She established the MFA in NSW, co-founded the HSANZ nurses group and convened the first Nursing Symposium at the International Myeloma Workshop.

Associate Professor Simon Harrison
  • Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

A/Prof Simon Harrison is the Director of the Centre of Excellence in Cellular Immunotherapy at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. He is also the lead Haematologist for Myeloma and Director of Clinical Apheresis at Peter Mac, and a clinician scientist in the Sir Peter MacCallum department of Oncology in Melbourne University. His work focuses on the immunopathology of multiple myeloma, the impact of novel drug combinations and immune therapies.

Dr Patricia Walker
  • Frankston Hospital

Dr Patricia Walker is a clinical haematologist at Peninsula Private Hospital and the Alfred Hospital. Her ongoing areas of interest include malignant haematology, stem cell transplantation and survivorship/late effects of treatment. 

Dr Noemi Horvath
  • Royal Adelaide Hospital, Adelaide

Dr Noemi Horvath is a clinical and laboratory haematologist and head of the Myeloma Research Group at Royal Adelaide Hospital.

Dr Krystal Bergin
  • The Alfred Hospital, Melbourne

Dr Krystal Bergin is a clinical haematologist with Alfred Health  who is currently completing a PhD with the Central Clinical School at Monash University.